full screen background image

SAWAP and BRICKS Projects: a common goal


The World Bank/GEF Sahel and West Africa Program – SAWAP is a 1.1 billion dollar investment program intended to develop the sustainable management of lands and water resources for 12 African countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Ethiopia, Ghana, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan an Togo).

It therefore contributes to the implementation of the Sahel and Sahara Great Green Wall Initiative through the improvement of landscape resilience and livelihoods of populations, and therefore to poverty reduction, food security and water resource security and a stop to natural resource degradation.

BRICKS – Building Resilience through Innovation, Communication and Knowledge Services Project, launched in March 2014, supports the SAWAP program in the implementation of the 12 SAWAP projects’ objectives.

It facilitates the identification of innovations at the regional and global level as well as their promotion through communication, knowledge management and monitoring and evaluation. Therefore BRICKS aims to improve access to best practices and monitoring information existing in the SAWAP portfolio on integrated natural resource management, climate change and natural disasters.

Funded under a Global Environment Facility Grant of 4.6 million dollars, it is being implemented by three regional centres of excellence: the Permanent Inter-State Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel-CILSS, the Sahel and Sahara Observatory-OSS and the International Union for Conservation of Nature-IUCN

full screen background image

Les projets SAWAP et BRICKS : un objectif commun

sawap-bricks-africa-800x400-2

Le programme Banque Mondiale/FEM pour le Sahel et l’Afrique de l’OuestSAWAP est un programme d’investissements de 1.1 milliards de dollars  destinés à développer la gestion durable des terres et des ressources en eau de 12 pays africains (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Tchad, Ethiopie, Ghana, Mali, Mauritanie, Niger, Nigéria, Sénégal, Soudan et Togo).

Il contribue donc à la réalisation de l’Initiative de la Grande Muraille Verte pour le Sahara et le Sahel par l’amélioration de la résilience des paysages et des moyens de subsistance des populations, et ainsi, à la réduction de la pauvreté, à la sécurité alimentaire et à la sécurité des ressources en eau et le frein à la dégradation des ressources naturelles.

Le BRICKSprojet de renforcement de la résilience par le biais de services liés à l’innovation, à la communication et aux connaissances, lancé en Mars  2014, vient en appui au programme SAWAP dans la réalisation des objectifs des 12 projets du SAWAP.

Il facilite l’identification des innovations au niveau régional et global ainsi que leur promotion à travers la communication, la gestion des connaissances et le suivi évaluation.  Ainsi le BRICKS a pour objectif d’améliorer l’accès aux meilleures pratiques et aux informations de suivi contenues dans le portefeuille du sAWAP sur la gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles, des changements climatiques et des catastrophes naturelles.

Financé à hauteur de 4.6 millions de dollars par un don du Fonds pour l’Environnement Mondial, il est mis en oeuvre par 3 centres d’excellence régionaux : le Comité permanent Inter états de Lutte contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel-CILSS, l’Observatoire du Sahara et du Sahel-OSS et l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature-UICN.