full screen background image

The BRICKS implementing agencies

BRICKS is a 6-year project to support the implementation of the Sahel and West Africa Programme in support of the Great Green Wall Initiative (SAWAP), implemented by three regional centres of excellence: CILSS, IUCN, OSS, which are each responsible for a specific component of the project implementation.

• The Permanent Interstate Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel – CILSS

CILSS was established on 12 September 1973 in the wake of the major droughts that hit the Sahel in the 70s. It brings together today 13 Member States including 8 Coastal States: Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, the Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mauritania, Senegal and Togo; 4 landlocked States: Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Chad, and 1 island State: Cape Verde. CILSS has a mandate to be engaged in the search for food security and in the fight against the effects of drought and desertification, for a new ecological balance in the Sahel. This objective is achieved through 5 major service clusters: (i) Support the definition and implementation of sectoral policies relating to its mandate (national food security strategies, national desertification control action plans…), (ii) Basic and continuous training (agro meteorology, crop protection, in the field of information systems…), (iii) Information (operation of watch-keeping system on food security, databases…) , (iv) Research and capitalization (background studies on various topics, scientific support…), (v) Multi country pilot projects (many partners trust CILSS for the implementation of multicountry projects). CILSS consists of an executive secretariat based in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) and two specialized agencies AGRHYMET based in Niamey (Niger) and the Sahel Institute in Bamako (Mali). CILSS remains a reference in the sub-region which earned it the distinction of International Public Interest Organization.

• The International Union for Conservation of Nature – IUCN

The IUCN helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges. Valuing and conserving nature, ensuring effective and equitable governance of its use, and developing nature-based solutions to meet the global challenges of climate, food and development; these are the areas in which IUCN activities are being carried out. The Union supports scientific research, conducts projects around the world and brings together governments, NGOs, international organisations and businesses to generate policies, laws and good practices. IUCN is the oldest and largest global environmental organisation. It has more than 1,200 Members, Governments and NGOs and nearly 11, 000 volunteer experts in some 160 countries. To carry out its activities, the IUCN has a staff of over 1, 000 employees in 45 offices and is supported by hundreds of partners in the public, private and NGO sectors around the world. To contribute to the IUCN Quadrennial Programme, the Central and West Africa Programme (CWAP) is based on 5 regional thematic programmes (RTP) which develop a regional vision and implement their programmes and projects: Forest conservation; Water and Humid Areas; Marine and Coastal Areas; Protected Areas; Law, Policy and Governance. The CWAP extends over 25 States.

The Sahel and Sahara Observatory – OSS

The Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS) is an international (inter-governmental) organisation with an African vocation, established in 1992 and based in Tunis (Tunisia) since 2000. Its action takes place in arid, semi-arid and dry sub-humid areas of the Sahel-Saharan region. OSS members include 22 African countries, 5 non-African countries, 4 sub-regional organisations representing West, East and North Africa and a Non-governmental organisation. OSS works with its member countries and organisations in subsidiarity and complementarity. It acts as an initiator and facilitator of partnerships around common challenges related to shared water resources management and implementation of Multilateral Environmental Agreements, including those on desertification, biodiversity and climate change. Its programmes and projects are financed by voluntary contributions, grants and donations from our member countries and organisations and partners. A light and flexible structure, a transparent management of financial resources, effective governance mechanisms and a competent, multi-cultural and multi-disciplinary team allow OSS to make high value added contribution in the international and African institutional landscape.

full screen background image

Les centres de mise en oeuvre du BRICKS

Projet de 6 ans en appui à la mise en oeuvre du Programme Sahel et Afrique de l’Ouest en support à l’Initiative de la Grande Muraille Verte (SAWAP), le BRICKS est mis en oeuvre par trois centres d’excellence régionaux : CILSS, UICN, OSS, qui ont chacun en charge un volet spécifique de la mise en oeuvre du projet.

logo-agences

  • Le Comité permanent Inter états de Lutte contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel – CILSS

Le CILSS a été créé le 12 septembre 1973 à la suite des grandes sécheresses qui ont frappé le Sahel dans les années 70. Il regroupe à ce jour 13 Etats membres répartis en 8 Etats côtiers: Bénin, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambie, Guinée, Guinée Bissau, Mauritanie, Sénégal, Togo; 4 Etats enclavés: Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Tchad et 1 Etat insulaire: Cap Vert. Le CILSS a pour mandat de s’investir dans la recherche de la sécurité alimentaire et dans la lutte contre les effets de la sécheresse et de la désertification, pour un nouvel équilibre écologique au Sahel. Cet objectif est réalisé à travers 5 pôles de services offerts aux Etats: (i) l’appui à la définition et la mise en oeuvre des politiques sectorielles relatives à son mandat (stratégies nationales de sécurité alimentaire, plans d’action nationaux de lutte contre la désertification…) , (ii) les formations de base et continues (agro météorologie, protection des cultures, dans le domaine des systèmes d’information…) , (iii) l’information (animation de dispositif de veille sur la sécurité alimentaire, bases de données…) , (iv) la recherche et capitalisation (études de fond sur diverses thématiques, appui scientifique…) , (v) les projets pilotes multi pays (de nombreux partenaires font confiance au CILSS pour la mise en oeuvre de projets multipays). Le CILSS est constitué d’un secrétariat exécutif basé à Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) et de deux institutions spécialisées AGRHYMET basé à Niamey (Niger) et Institut du Sahel à Bamako (Mali). Le CILSS demeure une référence dans la sous région ce qui lui a valu la distinction d’ Organisation Internationale d’Intérêt Public.

CILSS website    CILSS on facebook    CILSS on Twitter

  • L’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature – UICN

L’UICN aide la planète à trouver des solutions pragmatiques aux problèmes les plus urgents de l’environnement et du développement. Valoriser et conserver la nature, assurer une gouvernance efficace et équitable de son utilisation, développer des solutions basées sur la nature pour relever les défis mondiaux du climat, de l’alimentation et du développement, tels sont les domaines dans lesquels s’exercent les activités de l’UICN. L’Union soutient la recherche scientifique, conduit des projets dans le monde entier et réunit les gouvernements, les Organisations Non Gouvernementales, les Organisations Internationales et les entreprises en vue de générer des politiques, des lois et des bonnes pratiques. L’UICN est la plus ancienne et la plus grane organisation mondiale de l’environnement. Elle compte plus de 1200 membres et près de 11 000 experts bénévoles dans quelques 160 pays. Plus de 1000 employés répartis dans 45 bureaux contribuent à la réalisation de ses activités. Des centaines de partenaires dans les secteurs privé, public et ONG du monde entier soutiennent l’Union.  Pour contribuer au Programme Quadriennal de l’UICN, le Programme Afrique Centrale et Occidentale (PACO) se fonde sur 5 thématiques régionaux (PTR): la conservation des forêts, Eau et Zones Humides, Zones Marines et côtières, Aires Protégées, Droit politique et gouvernance. Le PACO s’étend sur 25 Etats.

IUCN website IUCN on facebook  IUCN on twitter

L’Observatoire du Sahara et du Sahel – OSS

L’OSS est une organisation internationale (intergouernementales) à vocation africaine, créée en 1992 et établie à Tunis (Tunisie) depuis 2000. Son action se situe dans les zones arides, semi arides et subhumides sèches de la région sahélo saharienne. L’OSS compte parmi ses membres: 22 pays africains, 5 pays non africains, 4 organisations sous régionales représentatives de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, de l’Est et du Nord et une organisation non gouvernementale. L’OSS travaille avec ses pays et organisations membres dans la subsidiarité et la complémentarité. Il agit en tant qu’initiateur et facilitateur de partenariat autour des défis communs liés à la gestion des ressources en eau partagées et à la mise en oeuvre des Accords multilatéraux sur l’Environnement, notamment ceux portant sur la désertification, la biodiversité et les changements climatiques. Ses programmes et projets sont financés par les contributions volontaires, les subventions et les dons provenant des pays et organisations membres et partenaires. Une structure flexible et légère, une gestion transparente des ressources financières, des mécanismes de gouvernance efficaces et une équipe compétente, multiculturelle et multidisciplinaire permettent à l’OSS d’apporter une contribution à haute valeur ajoutée dans le paysage institutitonnel international et africain.

OSS website OSS on facebook OSS on twitter