full screen background image

The Great Green Wall

The Great Green Wall for the Sahara and Sahel Initiative: a mosaic of sustainable land use practices

to build local resilience to land degradation and climate change in 20 countries

agendadakar3The Great Green Wall for the Sahara and the Sahel Initiative (GGWSSI) is a pan-African programme launched in 2007 by the African Union (AU). Its goal is to reverse land degradation and desertification in the Sahel and Sahara, boost food security and support local communities to adapt to climate change. The initiative has evolved to become a sustainable regional land-use planning program.
The vision of a Great Green Wall in Africa is a metaphor that shapes a mosaic of interventions in the sustainable use of lands and community land management practices.
The Great Green Wall offers the opportunity to change the situation in Africa, with the possibility to build local resilience to climate change, to preserve the rural heritage and improve the livelihoods of local populations.

All-round partnerships!
The Initiative brings together more than 20 African countries as well as international partners to implement long-term solutions against land degradation and desertification.
As land and rural development management is a complex issue, it became necessary to create a strong partnership for the success of the initiative. It is therefore based on a spirit of regional solidarity and South-south exchange to promote best practices and share lessons learned. Full participation of local communities is at the heart of the planning, implementation and management of the projects in support of the objectives of the Initiative.
More than 50,000,000 euros were mobilized by the partners for regional and South-south cooperation, monitoring, capacity development, knowledge management and cross-border actions under the Great Green Wall for the Sahara and Sahel Initiative.

The achievements of the Initiative!

The Initiative aims to replicate good practices in the Sahel-Saharan region.
• In Burkina Faso, Senegal and Niger: a mechanized technology inspired by traditional practices known as the Vallerani system, helped restore more than 50,000 hectares of agro-silvo-pastoral systems with Acacia
• In Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger and in Ethiopia: farmer-assisted natural regeneration has played a fundamental role in the creation of multiple livelihoods and local environmental benefits.
• In Niger: the Government has defined pastoral modernization areas based on the concept of semi pastoralism and centered on a distributed network of water points to improve the passage of herds and improve forage production.

The challenges of the Initiative!

These include:
• promoting the Great Green Wall as Africa’s flagship programme for achieving the Rio + 20 targets of a land-degradation neutral world and the development of resilient lands, providing livelihoods for people,
• integrate the Initiative in key planning,
• Encourage national Governments to demonstrate their commitment to the Initiative through the funding of national GGWSSI action plans,
• Promote South-South cooperation and triangular cooperation as a key strategy for implementing the Great Green Wall in particular mutual learning to improve effective investment,
• Encourage partnership with emerging countries and ACP countries on the transfer of technology and best practices.

The Great Green Wall Portal

The Pan African Agency of the Great Green Wall

Great Green Wall Brochure

full screen background image

La Grande Muraille Verte

Initiative de la Grande Muraille Verte pour le Sahara et le Sahel : une mosaique de pratiques durables d’utilisation des terres pour renforcer la résilience locale à la dégradation des terres et aux changements climatiques dans 20 pays

logo

L’initiative de la Grande Muraille Verte pour le Sahara et le Sahel (IGMVSS) est un programme panafricain lancé en 2007 par l’Union Africaine. Son but est de lutter contre la dégradation des terres et la désertification au Sahel et au Sahara, renforcer la sécurité alimentaire et soutenir les communautés à s’adapter au changement climatique. L’initiative a évolué pour devenir un programme régional durable d’aménagement du territoire.

La vision d’une Grande Muraille Verte en Afrique est une métaphore qui modèle une mosaique d’interventions dans l’utilisation durable des terres et les pratiques de gestion des terres communautaires.

La Grande Muraille Verte offre l’opportunité de changer la donne en Afrique, avec la possibilité de renforcer la résilience locale au changement climatique, de préserver le patrimoine rural et améliorer les moyens de subsistance des populations locales.

Des partenariats tout azimut!

L’Initiative rassemble plus de 20 pays africains ainsi que les partenaires internationaux en vue de mettre en oeuvre des solutions à long terme contre la dégradation des terres et la désertification.

La gestion des terroirs et du développement rural étant une question complexe, il est apparu nécessaire de créer un partenariat solide pour la réussite de l’initiative. Elle se base donc sur un esprit de solidarité régionale et d’échange Sud-Sud pour promouvoir les bonnes pratiques et partager les leçons apprises. La pleine participation des communautés locales est au coeur de la planification, de la mise en œuvre et de la gestion des projets venant en appui aux objectifs de l’Initiative.

Plus de 50.000.000 d’euros ont été mobilisés par les partenaires pour la coopération régionale et Sud-Sud, le suivi, le développement des capacités, la gestion des connaissances et les actions transfrontalières dans le cadre de l’Initiative de la Grande Muraille Verte pour le Sahara et le Sahel.

Des réalisations de l’Initiative!

L’Initiative a pour objectif de répliquer les bonnes pratiques au sein de la région Sahélo Saharienne.

  • Au Burkina Faso, au Sénégal et au Niger: une technologie mécanisée inspirée des pratiques traditionnelles connues sous le nom de système de Vallerani, a permis de restaurer plus de 50000 hectares de systèmes agro sylvo pastoraux avec l’Acacia
  • Au Mali, au Burkina Faso, au Niger et en Éthiopie: la régénération naturelle assistée par les agriculteurs a joué un rôle fondamental dans la création de multiple moyens de subsistance et des avantages environnementaux locaux.
  • Au Niger: le gouvernement a défini des zones de modernisation pastorale basées sur le concept de semi pastoralisme et centrées autour d’un réseau distribué de points d’eau pour améliorer le passage des troupeaux et améliorer la production de fourrage.

Les challenges de l’Initiative!

Il s’agit entre autres de:

  • promouvoir la Grande Muraille Verte comme le programme phare de l’Afrique pour l’atteinte des objectifs Rio+20 d’un monde neutre à la dégradation des terres et le développement des terroirs résilients qui assurent des moyens de subsistance pour les populations,
  • intégrer l’Initiative dans la planification clé,
  • Encourager les gouvernements nationaux à démontrer leur engagement à l’Initiative à travers le financement des plans d’action nationaux IGMVSS,
  • Promouvoir la coopération Sud-Sud et la coopération triangulaire comme une stratégie clé pour la mise en œuvre de la Grande Muraille Verte en particulier l’apprentissage mutuel à renforcer l’investissement efficace,
  • Encourager le partenariat avec les pays émergents et les pays ACP sur le transfert de technologie et les meilleures pratiques.

 

Portail de la Grande Muraille Verte

Agence panafricaine de la Grande Muraille Verte

brochure de la Grande Muraille Vete